Double Cleansing Method – An Effective way to Clean Skin

DC method

Have you heard of the Double Cleansing method?

Double Cleansing is not news – it’s been around for centuries, primarily in Japan, where the traditional geishas used a two-step method to thoroughly wash the heavy, paint-like makeup from their faces each night.

That method involved cleansing first with oil, and letting that dissolve their makeup, following with a soapy cleanser that took care of leftover impurities and cleaned the pores.

 

Two types of impurities lodge onto our skin:

  1. Oil-based substances such as excess sebum, sunscreen and makeup.
  2. Water-based substances such as old skin cells, dust, bacteria, and perspiration.

A thorough cleansing routine must remove both types of impurities.

First, a cleanser (e.g., cleansing oil) brings oil-based substances such as excess sebum and makeup to the skin surface. These cleansers are also available as creams, gels, or milks. Choose the type most pleasant for you.

Second, a facial soap or wash envelops the impurities with an abundant lather and washes away water-based substances such as old skin cells, dust, bacteria, and perspiration.

What kind of cleansers should you use?

  • It’s best to use an oil or makeup-removing cleanser as your first step, to gently but thoroughly dissolve what’s on the top layer. Most oil cleanser are labled cleansing oil and will emulsify once in contact with water. The one in the video is a DIY one so I needed to use a towel to remove it or it would leave a oil residue if I only rinsed my face.
  • Second, use your normal daily cleanser, which ever one you’ve found to cooperate with your skin type best.

 

Have you tried this method before? Let me know your experiences before.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on March 31, 2015, in Skin Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey Carol

    I also use the double cleansing method and it’s worked wonders for my oily acne prone skin. I use coconut oil first and it removes all my makeup. I mean my mascara and eyeliner come off easily. It’s amazing!!! I then follow up with my Dudu Osun soap and after that my face feels so clean.

    Thank you for this. It’s necessary especially if you wear make up a lot.

    Like

  2. Hey Carol,

    The double cleansing method is amazing and it’s healed me with my oily acne prone skin. The double cleansing method is gentle, more gentle than face wipes if you have sensitive skin like I do. I use coconut oil to remove all my make up and it works wonders, it removes all my make up, I follow this up with my Dudu Osun African black soap which is also really good for acne prone sensitive skin. After this my face feel so clean and fresh.

    This is amazing.
    Thank you for sharing this in so much more detail.

    Like

  1. Pingback: PAMPER SUNDAY: 5 STEP DIY FACIAL | NextKidOnTheBlock

  2. Pingback: PAMPER SUNDAY: 5 STEP DIY FACIAL - New Kid On The Block

Leave a Reply

